Skip to content
Midlothian Counts — Midlothian, in numbers.Local help →

Midlothian, in numbers

People and living standards

Midlothian council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Midlothian council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 79,530 in 1991 to 100,390 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Midlothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 78,960 people in 1996; 100,390 people in 2025. 27.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Midlothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199179,530
199279,050
199379,030
199479,060
199578,860
199678,960
199779,550
199880,120
199980,630
200081,110
200180,950
200280,880
200380,280
200480,230
200580,050
200679,990
200780,370
200881,550
200981,900
201082,360
201183,450
201284,390
201385,120
201486,880
201588,180
201689,470
201791,000
201892,220
201993,420
202094,180
202195,670
202297,040
202398,350
202499,720
2025100,390
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Midlothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,468 people in 1996; 18,713 people in 2025. 13.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Midlothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,869
199216,650
199316,545
199416,600
199516,530
199616,468
199716,639
199816,727
199916,911
200017,030
200116,993
200216,620
200316,274
200415,933
200515,703
200615,500
200715,376
200815,386
200915,516
201015,528
201115,653
201215,896
201316,020
201416,281
201516,458
201616,687
201716,944
201817,312
201917,674
202017,781
202117,970
202218,286
202318,562
202418,704
202518,713
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Midlothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 51,271 people in 1996; 61,830 people in 2025. 20.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Midlothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,006
199251,682
199351,642
199451,544
199551,233
199651,271
199751,478
199851,838
199952,002
200052,176
200151,809
200251,996
200351,740
200451,840
200551,790
200651,827
200752,210
200853,135
200953,047
201053,129
201153,723
201253,771
201353,914
201454,910
201555,601
201656,256
201757,217
201857,716
201958,165
202058,610
202159,594
202260,303
202360,980
202461,609
202561,830
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Midlothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,221 people in 1996; 19,847 people in 2025. 76.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Midlothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,655
199210,718
199310,843
199410,916
199511,097
199611,221
199711,433
199811,555
199911,717
200011,904
200112,148
200212,264
200312,266
200412,457
200512,557
200612,663
200712,784
200813,029
200913,337
201013,703
201114,074
201214,723
201315,186
201415,689
201516,121
201616,527
201716,839
201817,192
201917,581
202017,789
202118,106
202218,451
202318,808
202419,407
202519,847
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 96,512 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Midlothian · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total92,14895.5%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 83,187 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Midlothian · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White81,64398.1%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller720.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group2100.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1800.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani3710.4%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi410%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese1300.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1880.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British2580.3%
Other Ethnic Group940.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 6.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Midlothian council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,628 per person in 1997; £24,228 per person in 2024. 180.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Midlothian council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,628
19988,798
19999,315
20009,643
200110,017
200210,423
200311,331
200412,388
200512,945
200613,583
200714,184
200814,817
200915,217
201015,783
201116,064
201216,421
201317,273
201417,612
201517,959
201617,978
201717,695
201818,436
201918,994
202019,237
202120,145
202220,944
202322,586
202424,228
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Midlothian council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.7% in 1997; -6.7% in 2024. 12 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Midlothian council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.7
1998-18.7
1999-17.7
2000-19
2001-19
2002-17.6
2003-13.1
2004-8.7
2005-7.9
2006-7.2
2007-7.6
2008-5.9
2009-5
2010-2.3
2011-1.4
2012-2.8
2013-1.4
2014-2.6
2015-5.6
2016-6.6
2017-10.2
2018-9.7
2019-9.9
2020-8.4
2021-7.8
2022-8.8
2023-7.6
2024-6.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Midlothian council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Midlothian council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£283,000

July 2026 · Midlothian council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.